Asset Integrity

Print this pagePrint this page

The Asset Integrity Steering Group (AISG) exists to improve industry management of Major Accident Hazards through promoting best practice and lessons learned.  There are three workgroups within the AISG:

The Major Accident Hazard Understanding workgroup, chaired by Peter Hepburn (Maersk Oil) and Stuart Taylor (Apache North Sea) aims to prevent Major Accidents through education in MAH Management and Process Safety Management.  The group has developed a Gap Analysis Tool for oil and gas workers of all levels to assess their MAH knowledge. A programme of engagement packs is currently being created and will be released throughout 2018. 

The Learning and Sharing workgroup, chaired by Ian Wright (Petrofac), is encouraging the industry to share their experiences from good practice, near-misses and hydrocarbon leaks.  In 2015, the group re-launched the Safety Alerts and Moments database so companies can anonymously share the lessons they've learned with the rest of the industry. 

The HCR Improvement and Implementation  assesses companies' HCR and MAH plans to promote best practice within the industry.  In 2015, the group completed 10 peer reviews.  The best practice gathered from these peer reviews will be included in the updated HCR Prevention document released in 2017.

Please email the AISG if you would like more information about the groups. 

The AISG is chaired by Craig Wiggins (Aker Solutions) and Mike Backus (Nexen) and has the following members:  Stuart Taylor (Apache North Sea),  Fiona FitzGerald (DNV GL), Russel Breen (HSE), Peter Hepburn (Maersk Oil), Damon Bowler, Ian Wright (Petrofac), Paul Wilson (Nexen), Bill Noble (Bureau Veritas) and Jake Molloy (RMT).