Offshore Safety Awards

The aim of the Offshore Safety Awards is to acknowledge, showcase and recognise the outstanding contribution that individuals, teams, and organisations make to improve safety at their worksites and across the wider industry.

The Offshore Safety Awards, jointly organised by Step Change in Safety and OEUK, seek to acknowledge the excellent work being done to promote safety across the industry and to share and celebrate the outstanding contributions being made by individuals and companies to the industry’s safety goals. This full-day, free-to-attend event will include keynote presentations, panel sessions, networking, drinks reception and of course, the Offshore Safety Awards. To book your FREE ticket to attend click here.

The awards – to be hosted at The Aberdeen Beach Ballroom on Tuesday 2 July – will see the audience participating in the judging. Finalists will film video selfies and explain on the day what they have been doing to contribute toward safety.

2024 nominations are now open! All entries must be submitted by Friday 19th April with the finalists being announced in May. Should you wish to include any YouTube videos, testimonials or large documents, please attach any supporting material and email all documents AND the completed nomination form to

Download the editable OSA 2024 nomination forms below.


Previous Winners

Maritime Safety Award, sponsored by Marine Safety Forum

  • MPA Marine Department, Montrose Port Authority

Safety Rep of the Year, sponsored by OPITO

  • Paul Dow, Wood

Welfare and Wellbeing, sponsored by bp

  • Joel Devine, Oceaneering

Operational Integrity, sponsored by CNOOC International

  • Elgin Fabric Maintenance Campaign Team 2022, TotalEnergies

Workforce Engagement

  • Fiona Welsh, TAQA Group

Sharing and Learning, sponsored by Spirit Energy

  • David Jamieson, Salus Technical

Award for Maritime Safety

  • Artur Stols, Vroon Offshore Services Ltd

Award for Safety Representative of the Year

  • Alan Bartlett, Stork

Award for Welfare and Wellbeing

  • North Sea Mental Health Champions, bp

Award for Operational Integrity

  • Rebecca Main, Anasuria Operating Company

Award for Workforce Engagement

  • Ian McKnight & Paul Parkes, Wood

Award for Sharing and Learning

  • Sean Buchan, Global E&C

Postponed due to Covid

Postponed due to Covid

Award for Maritime Safety

  • Oleg Krushynin, Solstad & Eric Wiseman, Seacroft Marine Consultants

Award for Safety Representative of the Year

  • Lee Chegwidden, production technician at Apache

Award for Innovation in Safety

  • CNOOC International and DNV GL

Award for Operational Integrity

  • CNOOC International in recognition of their Hydrocarbon Release Prevention (HRP) Programme.

Award for Workforce Engagement

  • BP Clair Ridge Safety Representatives and operations technicians

Award for Sharing and Learning

  • Shell UK’s Brent Decommissioning Project


Be the first to receive our news and alerts by signing up to join the Step Change in Safety website

Register Now